2016 Winners

The 2016 Popcorn Pep Club challenge drew an impressive array of creative entries from schools across the nation, showcasing the heart and soul of teachers and students alike. It is an absolute pleasure to look through these entries every year and learn more about you and what makes you tick, so thank you for taking the time to make us smile. We are proud of you all!

Grand Prize--$2,500 

Westmont Junior High School, Westmont, IL  
Sabrina Reimann, Administrator

Westmont Junior High School took this year’s top prize with their crazy across-curriculum array of popcorn projects. Popcorn was the star of a bewildering Rube Goldberg machine, stilted mannequin challenge, jumpy Phys Ed exercises, striking percussion instruments, motivating cheerleading cheer, as well as the topic of social studies, health and math exercises, just to name a few. We laughed, we cried, we grabbed more popcorn and watched this video over and over again. You should too.

Second Place--$1,000

Burrton High School, Burrton, KS  
Dana Kreie, Teacher

They say there’s no place like home, but when you live in Burrton, Kansas being at school must be a close second.  The students from Burrton look like they had a great time creating their amazing miniature farm scene from the movie “The Wizard of Oz” complete with corn crops, livestock, a big red barn, yellow brick road and a menacing, swirling tornado—all covered in popcorn.  Additionally they created a rainbow and Emerald city, and gave us some live action drama and a mannequin challenge for extra fun.

Third Place--$1,000

Plainville Junior Senior High School, Plainville, KS 
Kathryn Owings, Teacher

As much as we love seeing creative endeavors, we also appreciate it when bright minds get down to business and that’s exactly what Plainville Junior/Senior High School did.  They developed a business plan for Cardinal Corn, created products based on research, and sold their products in an effort to raise funds for a new popcorn machine.  If you want to start your own popcorn business, “Don’t miss your poppertunity” to see how this top prizewinner did theirs

Honorable Mentions--$500 each 

Morgan Township Middle/High School
Valparaiso, IN

Laura Stoner, Teacher
Chris George, Principal

Sam Houston Middle School
Garland, TX

Pamela Matthews, Teacher
Don Hernandez, Principal

Burke High School
Omaha, NE

Anne Townsend, Teacher
Dr. Steven Scraggs, Principal

East Union High School
Afton, IA

Nancy Beall, Teacher
Mark Weis, Principal

Elkhart High School USD 218
Elkhart, KS

Cara Rogers, Teacher
Chris Hattabaugh, Principal

Howells-Dodge Consolidated Schools
Howells, NE

Marla Prusa, Teacher
Mark Ernst, Principal

Kaleidoscope Academy
Appleton, WI

Roz Birch, Teacher
Al Brant, Administrator

Muscatine High School
Muscatine, IA

Kathy Danner, Teacher
Jared Smith, Principal